Thursday, December 1, 2011

Tidy Town Award Winner

Sophie at the Esplanade Hotel in Fremantle for the Awards.

The Shire of West Arthur is the proud winner of the Western Australian Tidy Town - Sustainable Communities Award. Tidy Towns - Sustainable Communties is an annual awards program that aims to encourage, motivate and celebrate the social, environmental and economic achievements of regional communities across Australia.
On November the 18th, I accompanied Sophie to Fremantle for the State awards ceremony. Sophie has just become a member of the local Tidy Towns committee, as a representative of the Youth Advisory Council.

Although West Arthur was nominated for five out of the six category awards, we didn't win any of them. So to be announced the overall State winner was a huge surprise and a great thrill. The award was presented by His Excellency Mr Malcolm McCusker AO CVO QC, Governor of Western Australia, to our Shire President  Ray Harrington. See a newspaper report HERE.

The announcement was very exciting.
The Governor with West Arthur representatives.
The acceptance speech.

The winners.

Now that West Arthur has been announced as the Western Australian winner of the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities award, we go on to the National judging. The committee has to prepare a new submission with different guidelines, and the whole community will be working towards seeing if we can bring home the national award next year...

No comments: